Ohio State joins STARS network to support rural and small-town students

in Uncategorized 104 views

The Ohio State University is part of a new network of colleges and universities established to help students from small-town and rural America enroll in, succeed at and graduate from college.

The STARS College Network (Small-Town And Rural Students) is backed by a $20 million gift from philanthropist Byron Trott and will build on efforts to create new pathways to college for students who might not otherwise recognize the full range of educational opportunities available to them.

The network also includes Brown University, California Institute of Technology, Case Western Reserve University, Colby College, Columbia University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Northwestern University, University of Chicago, University of Iowa, University of Maryland, University of Southern California, University of Wisconsin, Vanderbilt University, Washington University in St. Louis and Yale University.

“We are excited to build on and elevate our long-time commitment to students and families in Ohio’s small towns and rural communities,” said James Orr, vice provost for strategic enrollment management. “This partnership perfectly aligns with Ohio State’s land-grant mission and provides more opportunities for the university to remove barriers and provide a pathway to higher education for students throughout the state.”

Member institutions are dedicated to trying new programs for students, college advisers and counselors, and access organizations to enroll the nation’s best and brightest, no matter where they live, in a school that is the best for them.

Click here to Continue Reading on Ohio State News

Go to Top