Find out which municipalities in the Columbus area permit fireworks

in Uncategorized 91 views

Before you shoot red, white and blue sparks into starry skies, check your location.

In 2021, Gov. Mike DeWine signed a bill that legalized in-state ignition of firecrackers, Roman candles and other consumer-grade fireworks on these holidays:

  • New Year’s Eve
  • New Year’s Day
  • Chinese New Year
  • Cinco de Mayo
  • Memorial Day weekend
  • Juneteenth
  • July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays before and after
  • Labor Day weekend
  • Diwali

But a provision in the law gives municipalities the freedom to continue banning firework use in their territories. Additionally, towns and cities can limit the state-legislated dates and times for which use is permitted.

Click here to continue reading on Dispatch

Go to Top